The Code of Practice for the Categorisation of Motor Vehicle Salvage is changing from 1st October 2017.

It is ten years since the Code of Practice was last reviewed, and the new updated version introduces a major change to the salvage categorisation codes.

Previous Categorisation CodesA: ScrapB: BreakC: Repair costs exceed pre-accident valueD: Repair costs do not exceed pre-accident valueNew Categorisation CodesA: ScrapB: BreakS: StructuralN: Non-Structural

In this article, we would like to focus on Category S; which is one of the new categories to come into effect from 1st October.

What is a Category S vehicle?

A Category S is defined by the Code of Practice as a repairable vehicle which has sustained damage to any part of the structural frame or chassis, and the insurer/self-insured owner has decided not to repair the vehicle.’

What is considered ‘structural damage’?

The Code of Practice contains the following illustrations, showing the structural areas of vehicle construction. The illustrations are generic and are for guidance purposes only. Vehicle design and description of the components will differ between vehicle manufacturers.

Illustration extracted from:

Is Category S the same as the old Category C?

No. A Cat S is not a direct replacement for a Cat C.

A Category C was defined by the Code of Practice as ‘repairable total loss vehicles where repair costs including VAT exceed the vehicle’s pre-accident value (PAV).’

With a Cat C, the decision was based on repair costs but with a Cat S the decision is based on the extent of damage to the vehicle.

We will continue to provide information and guidance regarding the changes to the Code of Practice in the coming weeks.